2013 Scholarship Winners!

Posted by Ne[x]t on 08.08.13

Congratulations to our 2013 Scholarship recipients and thanks to all who submitted an application.  The scholarships were awarded by our Executive Scholarship Committee consisting of Jeff Dauler (Q100’s The Bert Show), Brandi Burton (Atlanta Hawks), Bill McLellan (L.E.A.D.), Michelle Martin (Junior Achievement of Georgia), Jason Gorman (680 The Fan), Jennifer Bodnar (Georgia State University Office of Civic Engagement) and Brian Jordan (Brian Jordan Foundation).

Scholarship Winners:

Alena Antonowich

Alena Antonowich

$5,000 – Alena Antonowich (Washington University in St. Louis)

$3,000 – Erin Hennessey (Georgia State University)

$2,000 – Michelle Borg (University of Georgia)

$1,000 – Jack “Tiger” Brown, III (Claremont McKenna College)

$1,000 – John Cowart (Georgia College and State University)

$1,000 – Gavin Greif (University of North Georgia)

$1,000 – Andrew Jarnagin (University of Georgia)

$1,000 – Christopher Lawhorne (University of Texas, El Paso)


Quotes from our winners…

Michelle Borg

Michelle Borg

I just want to thank Georgia’s Own for this opportunity; I am so grateful for their help in attaining my goal of a college education. – Alena Antonowich


“It simply means having the opportunity to achieve my goals.  It provides encouragement in the sense that it takes a little pressure off of the financial beating college can sometimes bring and allows me to focus solely on my studies.” – Michelle Borg




Leave a Comment:

Your Comment:

Fresh Financial Thinking, Delivered to You.

Sign-up for the Ne[x]t newsletter and get smart money tips delivered straight to your inbox.